logo Commission on Legal Pluralism

News by the Commission

Dear Members of the Commission on Legal Pluralism,

It is our pleasure to announce that we have a new Board.

The following persons have been elected to serve as members of the Board of the Commission on Legal Pluralism for a period of three years, as from November 1st, 2016:

  1. Jennifer Corrin (The University of Queensland, Australia)
  2. Marie-Claire Foblets (Max Planck Institute, Halle, Germany)     
  3. Armando Guevera-Gil (Lima, Peru)                            
  4. Andre J. Hoekema (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)        
  5. Chuma Himonga (University of Cape Town, South Africa)                 
  6. René Kuppe (University of Vienna, Austria)                          
  7. Sally Engle Merry (New York University, USA)                       
  8. Natasha Novikova (Institute of Ethnology and Anthropology, Moscow, Russia)
  9. Ghislain Otis (University of Ottawa, Canada)
  10. D. Parthasarathy (Indian Institute of Technology Bombay)      
  11. Rajendra Pradhan (Nepa School of Social Sciences and Humanities, Kathmandu, Nepal)     
  12. Christa Rautenbach (North-West University, South Africa)
  13. Yüksel Sezgin (Syracuse University, United States)                
  14. Rachel Sieder (Center for Research and Graduate Studies in Social Anthropology, Mexico)
  15. Indira Simbolon (Asian Development Bank, Philippines)           
  16. Masami Mori Tachibana (Kyoto Bunkyo University, Japan)       
  17. Bertram Turner (Max Planck Institute, Halle, Germany)          
  18. Patricia Urteaga (Universidad Catolica de Lima, Peru)                                
  19. Ulrike Wanitzek (University of Bayreuth, Germany)                
  20. Markus Weilenmann (Office for Conflict Research in Developing Countries, Switzerland) 
  21. Melanie Wiber (University of New Brunswick, Fredericton, Canada)                
  22. Werner Zips (University of Vienna, Austria)       

Ex-officio members:

Maarten Bavinck (University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)

Anne Griffiths (University of Edinburgh, UK)

Dik Roth (Wageningen University, The Netherlands)

Janine Ubink (University of California Irvine, USA)

Keebet Von Benda-Beckmann (Max Planck Institute, Halle, Germany)

Gordon Woodman (University of Birmingham, UK)


We wish to welcome those members who are new to the Board, and thank everyone who has agreed to continue to serve in this position.

With kind regards,

Giselle Corradi, Executive Secretary

Call for papers: 9th International Conference on Culture and International Law

The Center for International Law Studies (CILS) Faculty of Law, Universitas Indonesia in collaboration with Faculty of Law Brawijaya University are pleased to announce the 9th CILS International Conference on Culture and International Law. The Conference will be located at the Faculty of Law, Brawijaya University, Malang, Indonesia on 2-3 October 2018. We invite all legal scholars and professionals from within and outside Indonesia to submit abstracts and paper over current developments and legal issues in international law within the scope of the current theme.

Should you have further inquiries, please contact Ms. Anbar Jayadi and Ms. Dita Liliansa at cilsconference@ui.ac.id.

Global South Writing Workshops

The Centre for Law and Global Justice, Cardiff University, is running a series of writing workshops with partners in the global south, and with UK socio-legal journals and the British Academy. The workshops are being run as mentoring, learning and advice sessions for scholars interested in developing and publishing socio-legal work. Workshops will be held in autumn 2018 in Accra, Nairobi, Bangalore and Recife. More details can be found here.

In Memoriam Gordon Woodman (1937-2017)

It is with great sadness that we note the passing of Gordon Woodman who was one of the founding fathers of the Commission on Legal Pluralism and its Journal. Keebet von Benda-Beckmann and Ulrike Wanitzek wrote an In Memoriam for him which is now published in the Journal of Legal Pluralism. You can download it through this link. Gordon will be missed dearly.

Registration open for Annual Conference of the Law and Development Research Network in Leiden

The Van Vollenhoven Institute for Law, Governance and Society is hosting the annual conference of the Law and Development Research Network in Leiden, on 19-21 September, 2018. The theme of the conference is Interfaces. A more detailed programme is available at http://www.leidenlawconference.nl/8-conferences/38-interfaces. Registration can be done via the website as well. 

18th IUAES World Congres, July 16-20, 2018

The 18th World Congress of the International Union of Anthropological and Ethnological Sciences (IUAES) has the following general subject: The past, present and future of anthropological knowledge. It will be hosted by the Federal University of Santa Catarina, in Florianópolis, the capital city of the Brazilian southern state of Santa Catarina, with the support of the Brazilian Association of Anthropology (ABA). This will be the first world congress of anthropology to be held in South America since a first meeting in London in 1934.

Panel proposals can be submitted until 30 October 2017. A call for papers to be included in accepted panels will be open from 1 December 2017.

For more information, check: http://www.iuaes2018.org/site/capa

LSA Annual Meeting 2018, June 7-10, 2018

The Law and Society Association (LSA) and the Canadian Law and Society Association jointly organize a meeting in Toronto: “Law at the crossroads: le droit a la croisée des chemins”. Date: June 7-10, 2018. Venue: Sheraton Centre, Toronto, Canada.

For paper and session proposals, see: http://www.lawandsociety.org/Toronto2018/toronto2018.html

In Memoriam John Griffiths (1940-2017)

It is with great sadness that we note the passing of John Griffiths. John developed his interest in sociology of law in the early 1970s and he started teaching this subject in 1973 at New York University. He moved to the University of Groningen in 1976, were he was appointed Professor in 1977. Until his retirement in 2015 he lived and worked in Groningen. He was one of the founding fathers of the Journal of Legal Pluralism and Unofficial Law and will be remembered for his contribution in early debates about the content and scope of the concept of legal pluralism. John will be missed by his many former-colleagues, graduate students and friends.